Tomorrow is “Texas’ Grandest Day of Thoroughbred Racing”


Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie (press release)

Written by: Rodney Nelson

The most lucrative day of Thoroughbred racing in Texas, Lone Star Million Day, will take place Memorial Day, May 27 at Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie. More than $1.3 million in purse money is up for grabs on the 12-race card.

Lone Star Million Day features a half-dozen stakes races, highlighted by the Grade 3, $400,000 Steve Sexton Mile. Frosted Grace is entered to defend his title after a win in last year’s Steve Sexton Mile. Fresh off of a win in the Grade 3, Oaklawn Mile, Frosted Grace was made the 2 to 1 morning line favorite by Track Handicapper, Rick Lee. The eight-year-old horse, trained by Michael Maker and owned by Flying P Stable has drawn post position 5, and will be ridden by Ramon Vasquez. Frosted Grace will face seven rivals including Presidential and Silver Prospector, the winner of the 2022 edition of the Steve Sexton Mile. Qatar Racing’s Everso Mischievous, a graded stakes winner trained by Brad Cox, drew the rail for his first start of the year.

The Steve Sexton Mile will be contested as race 11 on Memorial Day with a post time of approximately 6:37 p.m. (CT). Post position order is listed below:

Five undercard stakes will be contested as part of the Lone Star Million Day card as well. They are the $300,000 Texas Derby, $200,000 Ouija Board Distaff, $100,000 Chamberlain Bridge Stakes, $100,000 Memorial Day Sprint and the $100,000 Speightstown Sprint.

To compliment a great afternoon of live Thoroughbred racing, kids can enjoy our family fun park that includes a petting zoo, pony rides, face painters, and more from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. Plus, Emerald City’s Limelight Band will be on the Courtyard of Champions Stage and one lucky fan will win a 2024 Ford Escape.*

Gates open for the special holiday race card at noon, with the first post set for 1:35 p.m. General admission is $10. Visit for more information.

*No Purchase Necessary. Must be a Texas Resident, 21 Years of Age or Older.

Deadline to Enter is 4 p.m.