The Field is Set for the “Richest Race in Texas” Tonight 6:05 PM At Lonestar Park


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas (Friday, October 27, 2023) – A total of sixteen trials over two nights have decided the field for the richest race in Texas, the $1,176,155.60 Texas Classic Futurity (G1). The five fastest horses from each night of the trials advance to the 400-yard futurity final on Saturday, November 18.

Thursday night’s trials were contested over a muddy (sealed) racetrack. Cowboys Gun Z, winner of this year’s All-American Futurity, set the fastest qualifying time of the night while cruising to victory in the 5th trial of the night. Ridden by jockey Agustin Silva, the Oklahoma-bred gelding crossed the wire in 19.713, a full length over Thursday night’s third fastest qualifier, Especially Goodcandy.

Thursday’s qualifiers also included Dollar Bill, winner of the Texas Quarter Horse Association Sale Futurity (RG1), and San Lencho who made his first start after winning the Heritage Place Futurity (G1) in June at Remington Park. Rounding out Thursday’s qualifiers was the $150,000 TQHA Yearling Sale co-topper, Gotagoch.

The fastest overall qualifier to the Texas Classic Futurity (G1) came from Friday’s second trial. Multiple Grade 1 winner, Dark NME improved her record to seven wins from eight starts with her impressive trial win. Francisco Calderon was in the irons for the 2 1/4 length win, stopping the clock at :19.352. The runner-up from the same trial, Colleys Cartel, was also quick enough to qualify for the final, crossing the line in :19.737.

Other qualifiers from the second night of trials were Shes a Jet One, JS On Fire and Relentless Eagle.

A full list of qualifiers can be found below:

Dark NME – :19.352

Cowboys Gun Z – :19.713

Colleys Cartel – :19.737

Shes a Jet One – :19.741

Dollar Bill – :19.808

JS On Fire – :19.815

Relentless Eagle – :19.829

Especially Goodcandy – :19.881

Gotagogh – :19.884

San Lencho – :19.956

Racing will resume on Saturday, October 28 featuring trials for the $478,755.98 Texas Classic Derby (G1). The first post for the eleven race card will be at 6:05 p.m. (CT).